Gluten Free Grains

Gluten is the protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye). A gluten free diet is required for people with celiac disease and other disorders where the intestinal mucosa becomes inflamed as a reaction against gluten.

    Here is a list of gluten-free grains, which can be used by all people worried about getting gluten in their diet:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn and cornmeal
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
  • Hominy (corn)
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Teff

(Note: all images without explicit credit are my own. You are welcome to use them. Please just credit them to this website. Thank you!)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s